WXYZ Wing questions

Post the puzzle or solving technique that's causing you trouble and someone will help

WXYZ Wing questions

Postby smcroberts » Wed Jan 08, 2020 6:21 am

Hi,

This is my first post, so I hope I don't make a total fool of myself, but I think I have a legit novice level question.

I'm just learning the more advanced techniques, while programming my own Sudoku helper.

While programming the WXYZ Wing technique I came across the attached puzzle.

The WXYZ pivot cell is C7, and the outlier cell is B7. As I understand the technique, candidate 1 is the non-restrictive common candidate because the 1 in the outlier cell cannot see all of the 1's in the base cells (i.e. the B7 1 can't see the C1 and C2 1's) and therefore the 1 in C8, which can see all of the 1's in all of the cells of the WXYZ can be eliminated.

Two questions:

(1). All the examples I've seen of this technique have had the outlier cell on a different row/column than the pivot cell, though in the same block. Is it legit to have it in the same row (row 7 in this puzzle)? And, if so, could it be outside the block as long as it was on the same row (so that the pivot cell could still see it)? Or is it required to be in the same block?

(2). It seems to me that candidate 8 can also be eliminated from C8, because if it were true, then there would only be 3 candidates for the 4 cells of the WXYZ. So, is there a broader definition here that I'm missing? Can I take all the stuff about the non-restricted common candidate and what the outlier doesn't see, and replace it with: "Any cell that can see all of the WXYZ cells can have its candidates eliminated that match the WXYZ candidates"? So that, to the cell that sees all of the WXYZ cells, those cells act just like a Naked Quad. While other cells that can see all instances of a particular candidate in the WXYZ cells can have that candidate eliminated (e.g. candidate 9 in C4). Or am I leading myself astray with false assumptions?
Attachments