Where can I find more?

For fans of Killer Sudoku, Samurai Sudoku and other variants

Where can I find more?

Postby RW » Thu Jun 01, 2006 12:01 pm

Just found a (to me) new variant in a nice Swedish book called "Paul Vaderlinds annorlunda Sudokubok". Haven't seen it before and enjoyed it a lot. Now I wonder what this would be called and if there are more of these somewhere on the net? The idea:

Code: Select all
abc|abc|abc
def|def|def
ghi|ghi|ghi
-----------
abc|abc|abc
def|def|def
ghi|ghi|ghi
-----------
abc|abc|abc
def|def|def
ghi|ghi|ghi


Basic rules apply, but the 9 cells labeled 'a' must also contain numbers 1-9 once, the cells labeled 'b' must hold numbers 1-9 once etc. Here's a 8x8 example (#73 from the book):

Code: Select all
2.|..|..|.4
..|1.|7.|2.
75|..|.4|..
..|..|..|..
--+--+--+--
..|41|..|6.
..|..|..|..
..|.3|8.|..
.2|..|.5|.3


RW
RW
2010 Supporter
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: 16 March 2006

Postby tarek » Thu Jun 01, 2006 12:12 pm

You are talking about the Dijoint Groups variant.

here is a link to a thread where this has been discussed before (contains more links) http://forum.enjoysudoku.com/viewtopic.php?t=3480

tarek
User avatar
tarek
 
Posts: 2622
Joined: 05 January 2006

Postby RW » Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:51 am

Thanks tarek. I must agree with Andy (see link) that enough attention hasn't been paid to this variant, as it's really fun and challenging. My guess is that it's too difficult for the vast majorities, but for those who find basic newspaper sudokus too easy, I'd say this is an very interesting variant. Adding the "disjoint group"-constraint is so much more fun than just making the puzzle bigger or changing the shape of the boxes.

RW
RW
2010 Supporter
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: 16 March 2006

Postby HATMAN » Sun Jun 04, 2006 7:10 pm

RW

If you enjoy killers I have some Disjoint Group ones: www.diceboard.co.uk
HATMAN
 
Posts: 203
Joined: 25 February 2006


Return to Sudoku variants