What is XYZ-Wing Hybrid strategy?

Post the puzzle or solving technique that's causing you trouble and someone will help

What is XYZ-Wing Hybrid strategy?

Postby rjamil » Sun Nov 20, 2016 6:29 pm

Hi all,

I need to know in detail about XYZ-Wing Hybrid strategy.

Searched this forum and found nothing. However, the term found in Rule 19A: XYZ-Wing Hybrid discovered by Pritt Galford.

Maybe the term also known as different name but I am new to this. Please help to understand with examples.

R. Jamil
rjamil

Re: What is XYZ-Wing Hybrid strategy?

Postby eleven » Thu Dec 01, 2016 2:08 pm

Code: Select all
----------------------------------
 abc -b -b |  bc .  . | -b -b -b
  .  .  .  |  .  .  . |  .  .  .
  .  . ab  |  .  bc . |  .  .  .
----------------------------------
Either r1c4=b or: r1c4=c and (r3c5=b and) r3c3=a => r1c1=b
So one of r1c1 and r1c4 must be b.
eleven

Postby rjamil » Thu Dec 01, 2016 9:02 pm

Hi eleven,

Thanks for providing clear picture of XYZ-Wing Hybrid strategy.

However, need further clarification regarding proper definition.

What I understand from above scenario is as follows:
1) XYZ-Wing Hybrid strategy is based on four cells, i.e., one pivot cell and three pincer cells, that contain exactly three values (candidates) within a chute;
2) One pivot cell (or hinge or apex) contains all three values and three pincer cells contain two values each;
3) First pincer cell lying within pivot cell's line;
4) Second pincer cell having one common value with first pincer cell lying within pivot cell's box but does not lie within first pincer cell's line;
5) Third pincer cell having same values as first pincer cell (i.e., naked pair) lying within first pincer cell's box and second pincer cell's line;
6) Common pincers' value may be eliminated from cells lying within pivot cell and first pincer cell common line except cells from first pincer cell box.