Using Cellular Automata to find AIC's

Programs which generate, solve, and analyze Sudoku puzzles

Using Cellular Automata to find AIC's

Postby RSW » Thu Jan 13, 2022 5:27 am

I'm curious about how other Sudoku Solver programmers have implemented their AIC solving routines. Following is a description of what I've done.

I started programming my own Sudoku solver four years ago, and as time and ambition permit, I continue to add various solving techniques. A year ago, I added X chains and XY chains. In the process, I realized that most of the code for X chains and XY chains is identical, and I hate having to duplicate code unnecessarily. So, I abandoned the X and XY chain code, and wrote a generic AIC solver. The basic principle is, I assume, fairly standard: build a table of all strong links, and then build a chain by going through the table and finding which strong links can be joined by means of a weak link. I said "I assume" because when I started writing my solver, I avoided looking at any other solver code. I didn't want to be influenced by how others had done it. But, picking up bits and pieces of various comments made in various forums and sudoku sites, I've concluded that the chain building methods are similar, using recursive tree searching and backtracking to build the chains. This is how I initially implemented my generic AIC solver. However, I ran into problems because the table of strong links is now much larger than what it would be if I was solving only X chains or only XY chains. Processing time grows geometrically with the number of strong links. A typical puzzle, after the initial basics have been solved, can often have tens of thousands of AIC's due to the countless permutations, but the same puzzle might only have 10 or 20 X chains or XY chains. And so, I was finding that my solver was sometimes taking several minutes to generate a list of all AIC's when the number was large. Obviously, for the purpose of solving a puzzle, the solver could stop