Nonbreaking space

Having problems with the forum software, or suggestions for improvements

Nonbreaking space

Postby m_b_metcalf » Fri Nov 04, 2016 5:41 pm

I have programs that process, for instance, the Patterns Game results. Until recently, all was fine. Now however, at least using Microsoft Edge in Windows 10, the files appear to have acquired nonbreaking spaces. For instance, in

Code: Select all
000001002003200400020050010050000006007000800900006040070020050002007100800300000?# ?67 ? ?1.5/1.5/1.5?-?m_b_metcalf
000001002003200400020050060050000001007000800800009070070020050002008700900300000?# ?69 ? ?1.7/1.5/1.5?-?m_b_metcalf
000009008007300400050020070020000005006000700400006080080070090004003600300900000?# ? 1 ? ?2.0/1.2/1.2?-?Pat
000001002002300400050060030070000003004000700300008060080010070001004200700600000?# ?54 ? ?2.8/2.8/2.8?-?m_b_metcalf


I have replaced the blanks with ?, and the remaining blanks are, in fact, nonbreakiong spaces (Alt+Crtl+space).

Is this an artefact of the Forum, of Windows or of Edge?

Thanks for any help,

Mike Metcalf
User avatar
m_b_metcalf
2017 Supporter
 
Posts: 7904
Joined: 15 May 2006
Location: Berlin

Re: Nonbreaking space

Postby JasonLion » Fri Nov 04, 2016 11:50 pm

It is not the forum software. Nothing has changed in well over a year. The forum software will use whatever kind of space was entered in the original post.
User avatar
JasonLion
2017 Supporter
 
Posts: 598
Joined: 25 October 2007
Location: Silver Spring, MD, USA

Re: Nonbreaking space

Postby StrmCkr » Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:36 pm

Microsoft win10 changed its ascii string coding there is a lot of differences
mainly they went from alt+105 => alt+ 0105

i'd check the key mapping under windows to locate most of the changes.


its messed with a lot of my display functions in my solver :(
Some do, some teach, the rest look it up.
User avatar
StrmCkr
 
Posts: 597
Joined: 05 September 2006

Re: Nonbreaking space

Postby m_b_metcalf » Sun Feb 26, 2017 9:31 am

StrmCkr wrote:Microsoft win10 changed its ascii string coding there is a lot of differences
mainly they went from alt+105 => alt+ 0105

I resorted to the technique of copying text from within a 'quote' of the message in question. It's one click more, but works fine.

Regards,

Mike
User avatar
m_b_metcalf
2017 Supporter
 
Posts: 7904
Joined: 15 May 2006
Location: Berlin


Return to Forum questions and feedback