Do you know about the "Magic Heart" things?

For fans of Killer Sudoku, Samurai Sudoku and other variants

Do you know about the "Magic Heart" things?

Postby melodyaya » Tue Jan 24, 2006 3:34 pm

Hello, everyone
I am a student from HK and i am now doing a project of sudoku.
When i come across a Kokonotsu Supersudoku, the guideline states that "if we can find the "Magic Puzzle Heart", it will be much easier the solve it out".
So can anyone please tell me what is the meaning of "Magic Puzzle Heart" and how to find it?
Thank you very much! ^o^
melodyaya

Postby MCC » Tue Jan 24, 2006 6:16 pm

This is the wrong forum for this topic, having said that I found this:

The Kokonotsu Puzzle

The nine letter word “Kokonotsu” in Japanese means simply “nine.” (The word is pronounced “kokonots” – coconuts – the “u” being silent) The puzzle consists of nine 3x3 boxes forming an 81-field matrix. The object is to place nine different objects in each of the nine 3x3 boxes, filling horizontal rows and vertical columns as well as the major diagonals, creating symmetry, harmony and completeness. Typically some numbers – two, three or four – are provided by the puzzlemaker in each nine-square box at the start. The more numbers provided the easier the puzzle.

KOKONOTSU SuperSudoku adds dimensions and challenges not found in ordinary sudoku. Puzzle players who’ve tried both don’t want to go back to “ordinary” sudoku. Generic sudoku puzzles only require the player to fill in rows, columns and 3X3 boxes. Kokonotsu adds a 4th and 5th dimension: the two diagonals and a hidden Magic Puzzle Heart (MagicNine) consisting also of nine numbers that clever players will find and use to help them solve the puzzle more quickly. Each solution to a Kokonotsu puzzle is practically unique. With the number of variations in the quadrillions there is virtually no chance of repetitions.