Unique solution?

For fans of Kakuro

Unique solution?

Postby lunababy_moonchild » Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:47 pm

I've never done kakuro before but I was given a birthday gift of an electronic one and it even says in the intructions that in the event there is more than one solution the machine will go with what it considers to be correct. Which is fine as far as it goes but I was wondering :

Is kakuro, like sudoku, supposed to have only the one solution?

Thanks

Luna
lunababy_moonchild

Re: Unique solution?

Postby udosuk » Tue Feb 27, 2007 1:06 pm

lunababy_moonchild wrote:Is kakuro, like sudoku, supposed to have only the one solution?

IMHO any good logic puzzle is supposed to have a unique solution... That's unless working out the multiple solutions is part of the challenge...

However, some people might enjoy the process of working on a multi-solutional puzzle and trying to guess which solution is the one picked by the creator/generator of the puzzle...

Luna, perhaps if you play that machine for a few days you'll know if you enjoy it or not...:) Hope you find it as good as your Sudoku machine...:)
udosuk

Postby lunababy_moonchild » Tue Feb 27, 2007 2:04 pm

udosuk wrote:Luna, perhaps if you play that machine for a few days you'll know if you enjoy it or not...:) Hope you find it as good as your Sudoku machine...:)

Oh, I love it but never having had any experience of kakuro before I just wondered if the same 'reputable puzzles have only one solution' applied. I must admit to finding it a little frustrating to be told the solution I came up with is wrong and not being able to find the error...................

Luna
lunababy_moonchild

Postby re'born » Tue Feb 27, 2007 3:26 pm