Unfilled boxes, but puzzle already solved?

Everything about Sudoku that doesn't fit in one of the other sections

Unfilled boxes, but puzzle already solved?

Postby flycaster » Tue Apr 26, 2022 4:28 pm

I'm a newbie and have made this observation: I am finding, let's say for example, that when I've almost completely solved the puzzle and have maybe have 4-8 boxes with each box having only possible two numbers in it, that choosing any one of those two numbers will allow me to completely solve the puzzle without any further thought...it's been an "automatic" finish. In other words, if one is left with several boxes, each box having only two numbers, one can consider the puzzle to be already solved???
flycaster

Re: Unfilled boxes, but puzzle already solved?

Postby eleven » Thu Apr 28, 2022 5:28 pm

Strange question.
If you choose the correct one of the 2 digits, and made no mistake before, and the puzzle has only one solution, it will be solved with easy singles.
Personally i consider a puzzle to be solved, when the last number is solved (i.e. you have the complete solution).
eleven

Postby flycaster » Thu Apr 28, 2022 6:48 pm

eleven wrote:Strange question.
If you choose the correct one of the 2 digits, and made no mistake before, and the puzzle has only one solution, it will be solved with easy singles.
Personally i consider a puzzle to be solved, when the last number is solved (i.e. you have the complete solution).