Two ways Sudoku is being played

Everything about Sudoku that doesn't fit in one of the other sections

Two ways Sudoku is being played

Postby BullHorn » Sat Feb 11, 2023 4:56 pm

Hi, I'm new. Something has been crossing my mind lately, specifically how Sudoku can feel like 2 totally different games based on how/where they're played.

As I started learning to solve the basic puzzles in the newspaper and applying Box/Snyder notation, I quickly started getting stuck on concepts like X-wing and Hidden Rectangles. I was training a part of my brain to quickly find pairs with Snyder, but then struggling to solve anything more complex.
Once I downloaded the Enjoy Sudoku app on my phone and HoDoKu on PC, the gameplay changed completely. The app now fully fills up the board with all candidates and highlights cells in such a way that the old puzzles that were hard before are now extremely easy thanks to the assistance the software provides, so now I'm doing much harder puzzles.

But it's not that I got better at Sudoku, I'm just getting a ton of assistance from the software. If I try to go back to the newspaper Sudoku, I'm stuck the same way as I was before. I find that getting better at enjoysudoku/HoDoKo doesn't translate to pen&paper.
What do you guys think? Any recommendations?

Cheers.
BullHorn

Re: Two ways Sudoku is being played

Postby ghfick » Sun Feb 12, 2023 2:56 pm

You might like to read a thread I started back in 2016:

I am primarily a pen and paper solver

My pen-and-paper solving is my main Sudoku fun. As well, I do like to study the very hardest of puzzles using software like HoDoKu and YZF_Sudoku. For me, there is a boundary between the two activities. I can find XY-Chains with just pen-and-paper but the more general AICs remain largely impossible for me with pen-and-paper. I have tried to make advances but I am usually humbled.

Gordon
ghfick

Postby BullHorn » Sun Feb 12, 2023 3:53 pm

Very cool, I’m not alone!