trial and error / forcing chains

Advanced methods and approaches for solving Sudoku puzzles

trial and error / forcing chains

Postby vvill » Fri Dec 02, 2005 1:53 am

I'm new to formal sudoku techniques but I've been using most of the techniques I've found mentioned here through intuition / learning / etc.

My question is, at what point would you resort to using forcing chains or trial and error? I really dislike having to use these methods as they don't seem "logical" to me...

Also - a quick query about Pappocom difficulty levels - is there a set difference between Hard and Very Hard? For example, could I be guaranteed that I could solve all Hard puzzles without needing trial and error?
vvill

Postby Shazbot » Fri Dec 02, 2005 6:26 am

You can solve ALL Pappocom puzzles without trial and error - it's just likely a technique you haven't learned yet.

From what I've read about Forcing Chains on the Sadman site, they're similar to colouring (this would be a good spot for someone to point me to a discussion on the differences, if there are any). I'm learning to do colouring, and finding it really helpful. This (or forcing chains) should not be necessary on ANY Pappocom puzzles to my knowledge.

Pappocom Hard puzzles might require you to use the xwing technique, while Very Hard could require a swordfish. I moved over to Angus J's Simple Sudoku which requires combinations of xwing, swordfish and colouring to solve the Extreme puzzles (harder than the Pappocom Very Hard) - and today (though if I continued looking I may have found something more simple) I solved my first puzzle using the next # up from swordfish - 4 interlocking columns/rows (what's that called again?)

To learn these techniques, visit either AngusJ's site or the SadMan techniques site
Shazbot

Postby SarC » Fri Dec 02, 2005 10:54 am

I solved my first puzzle using the next # up from swordfish - 4 interlocking columns/rows (what's that called again?)

Jellyfish:D
SarC