Solving with colours

Post the puzzle or solving technique that's causing you trouble and someone will help

Solving with colours

Postby tonyjer » Fri Dec 29, 2006 11:58 am

Hi Everyone

Happy Christmas to one n'all.

Can someone briefly scan this grid and tell me if there is an opportunity to use simple colouring method (cojugate cells sharing same colour in same group/remote candidates)

Many thanks

Anna, Antonio y Eduardo Felipe
Code: Select all
         3   3         3   
                       
         3            3   
         3               3
      3      3            3
      3                  3
   3               3     
                       
   3   3            3     

tonyjer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 22 February 2006

Postby RW » Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:51 pm

tonyjer, you'll have to repost that grid so that it clearly shows which candidates are lined up in the same column and where the boxes are. The grid you posted is quite impossible to read.

RW
RW
2010 Supporter
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: 16 March 2006

Re: Solving with colours

Postby udosuk » Sat Dec 30, 2006 3:01 am

Thanks gsf...:)
Code: Select all
  .  .  .  |  3  3  .  |  .  3  .
  3  .  .  |  .  .  .  |  .  .  .
  .  .  .  |  3  .  .  |  .  3  .
-----------+-----------+-----------
  .  .  .  |  3  .  .  |  .  .  3
  .  .  3  |  .  3  .  |  .  .  3
  .  .  3  |  .  .  .  |  .  .  3
-----------+-----------+-----------
  .  3  .  |  .  .  .  |  3  .  .
  .  .  .  |  .  .  3  |  .  .  .
  .  3  3  |  .  .  .  |  3  .  .
Last edited by udosuk on Fri Dec 29, 2006 11:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
udosuk
 
Posts: 2698
Joined: 17 July 2005

Re: Solving with colours

Postby gsf » Sat Dec 30, 2006 3:23 am

udosuk wrote:I believe this is what they try to show:
Code: Select all
  .  .  .  |  3  3  .  |  .  3  .
  .  .  .  |  .  .  .  |  .  .  .
  .  .  .  |  3  .  .  |  .  3  .
-----------+-----------+-----------
  .  .  .  |  3  .  .  |  .  .  3
  .  .  3  |  .  3  .  |  .  .  3
  .  .  3  |  .  .  .  |  .  .  3
-----------+-----------+-----------
  .  3  .  |  .  .  .  |  3  .  .
  .  .  .  |  .  .  .  |  .  .  .
  .  3  3  |  .  .  .  |  3  .  .

This puzzle is not valid because you don't have any 3s in box 1, box 8, r2, r8 and c6...

clues at r2c1=3 and r8c6=3 could have left the 3's in this state, no?
gsf
2014 Supporter
 
Posts: 7306
Joined: 21 September 2005
Location: NJ USA

Postby udosuk » Sat Dec 30, 2006 3:45 am

Thanks to gsf, I edited the post above... Here is what the grid would look like after the obvious box-line elimination in r9c3:
Code: Select all
  .  .  .  |  3  3  .  |  .  3  .
  3  .  .  |  .  .  .  |  .  .  .
  .  .  .  |  3  .  .  |  .  3  .
-----------+-----------+-----------
  .  .  .  |  3  .  .  |  .  .  3
  .  .  3  |  .  3  .  |  .  .  3
  .  .  3  |  .  .  .  |  .  .  3
-----------+-----------+-----------
  .  3  .  |  .  .  .  |  3  .  .
  .  .  .  |  .  .  3  |  .  .  .
  .  3  .  |  .  .  .  |  3  .  .

I can't see any move from here based on the pattern of 3s only...
udosuk
 
Posts: 2698
Joined: 17 July 2005

Postby RW » Sat Dec 30, 2006 9:45 am

Good work udosuk! I almost got there, but I didn't see the possibility of column 1 being empty.:( Should have figured that out.

RW
RW
2010 Supporter
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: 16 March 2006

Thanks for your help

Postby tonyjer » Sat Dec 30, 2006 11:22 am

Appreciate the help and apologies for the delay in replying but had a bit of a family crisis. (now thankfully resolved)

Believe it or not, my biggest problem is posting the grid!!

I have followed the sticky advice but never seem to get the grid lines and the numbers are always all over the place.

I just create a table in word (new courier font) and apply that to the post using the code buttons.

Am I doing something wrong?

Sorry to be an idiot and thanks for your help again.

Anna, Antonio y Eduardo Felipe
tonyjer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 22 February 2006

Postby RW » Sat Dec 30, 2006 12:03 pm

tonyjer wrote:I just create a table in word (new courier font) and apply that to the post using the code buttons.

Am I doing something wrong?

Try doing it without using a table in word. Just set the new courier font and type in the grid so that all columns are aligned. What you see in word will look exactly like the code block on this forum. I usually use notepad which always has a fixed sized font. After pasting the grid to your message, look at the preview!! If you see that some columns aren't aligned, edit your post until they are. Also, please enter dots in all cells that don't have any relevant information, just to show where the other cells are.

RW
RW
2010 Supporter
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: 16 March 2006

Postby udosuk » Sun Dec 31, 2006 8:36 am

I use Notepad (with Fixedsys as the font) to enter those grids... Believe me it's not more fussy than using Word/Excel etc...

If you insist to use Word/Excel tables to input the data than remember to put in a dot for all the blank cells before you copy & paste the grid to Notepad, then use the "Replace All" function to replace all tab characters (you can copy & paste the tab character into the "Replace" window)... And finally you can copy & paste the whole thing into your reply posting window...:idea:
udosuk
 
Posts: 2698
Joined: 17 July 2005


Return to Help with puzzles and solving techniques