Question

Advanced methods and approaches for solving Sudoku puzzles

Question

Postby rich12545 » Sat Jun 03, 2006 3:57 am

I'm just new to Sudoku and am liking it very much. I read the Solving Sudoku and am now up to easy. I was wondering about Ariadne's thread. It looks to me like another way to guess. You pick one and run it out. If it works, then fine. And if not, then the other has to be correct. Is that right? Or is this considered some sort of logic? Thanks, Rich
rich12545

Postby lunababy_moonchild » Sat Jun 03, 2006 6:23 am

Ariadne's Thread is guessing. Whether or not you choose to do this is entirely up to you, but Pappocom puzzles do not require any form of guessing and nor do the more well constructed puzzles.

Luna
lunababy_moonchild

Postby rich12545 » Sat Jun 03, 2006 2:50 pm

Thank you. That's what I thought. No, I don't plan to use it at all. One of the main reasons I bought this game instead of one of the others I tried, even free ones, is the strict adherence to one solution and logic.
rich12545

Postby emm » Sat Jun 03, 2006 10:52 pm

People have different ideas about what constitutes guessing, but Ariadne’s Thread or proof by contradiction is just as logical as any other method of proof. Making a hypothesis, taking it to its logical conclusion and showing that it cannot be sustained is the basis of many of the techniques used here and is absolutely logical.

Multi-solution puzzles are a different story. Here you have more than one possible combination of numbers that will give you a solution and you are forced to guess between two numbers, either of which will work – that’s another kettle of poissons altogether.
emm

Postby rich12545 » Sun Jun 04, 2006 3:56 am