Philosophy of Nice Loops, or When Is It Guessing?

Advanced methods and approaches for solving Sudoku puzzles

Philosophy of Nice Loops, or When Is It Guessing?

Postby ramdeuja » Sat Apr 15, 2006 5:50 pm

hi

this is not so much about a technique as about the philosophy of what makes sudoku fun and what is "pure" solving.

i'm new to all this forum stuff and the lingo, but recently I've been trying to learn the advance techniques to tackle Vidar's Monster #4 (which someone in this forum deviously supplied).

What I know, I've gotten from the definitions on intosudoku.com (no offense to everyone here, but the graphic illustrations are much clearer than notation).

When I got to nice loops and tried looking for one, it felt to me like it was basically guessing. If the puzzle had a nice clear rectangular loop that led fairly directly to a contradiction-- something one could learn to see without drawing lines first-- it would feel like a valid technique. But when you go far down a chain of "it this is that, then this is that, so this must be that..." until you get a contradiction, couldn't that be called guessing?

My whole enjoyment of sudokus is that it can be done without guessing, otherwise it's just rote busywork.

Now the philosophical part.... "Guessing" itself is a form of logical conclusion: you pick on candidate value, then follow the logic until you either come to a contradiction, a deadend, or a complete solution. Other techniques are the same, they just form a more recognizable pattern than the convoluted chain of implications you get from guessing.