Only one right answer?

Everything about Sudoku that doesn't fit in one of the other sections

Only one right answer?

Postby maybroda » Thu Aug 10, 2006 6:55 am

I am relatively new to Suduku and am really enjoying it. I have one question though...Can someone tell me if there is only one correct answer to a puzzle. I have been working through some puzzles and I understand the rules of only one number 1-9 per column, row and 3x3 square. When I complete the puzzle I have followed those rules and I consistently find that my completed puzzle is different than the one that is supplied in the answer book. Am I missing something and doing something wrong or is it possible to have more than one way of completing a puzzle. Thank-you for your help and I look forward to a response because this is driving me crazy!
Kori
maybroda

Postby ravel » Thu Aug 10, 2006 7:18 am

If a puzzle has more than one solution and that is not explicitley pointed out, then its a shame, because normally you cant solve it without guessing.
ravel

Postby lunababy_moonchild » Thu Aug 10, 2006 7:19 am

It very much depends on whose puzzles you are doing. You don't mention the book so it's difficult to say if the puzzles have more than one answer.

Pappocom's puzzles have only one answer and they can be found in the Times Books and books by Wayne Gould. Nikoli's puzzles have only one answer and they can be found in a variety of books.

It would be more helpful if you could at least name the book you are working from.

Luna
lunababy_moonchild

Postby udosuk » Thu Aug 10, 2006 7:32 am

Sudoku - puzzles with a single unique solution.

Pseudoku - puzzles with multiple solutions.
udosuk

Postby ab » Thu Aug 10, 2006 10:32 am

Why not post one (or two) of your puzzles to this forum and see how many solutions other people find. it may be that the puzzle book you are using is not a good source of puzzles.