Nishio vs AICs. When is it considered cheating?

Post the puzzle or solving technique that's causing you trouble and someone will help

Nishio vs AICs. When is it considered cheating?

Postby Lengen0538 » Wed Dec 20, 2017 1:38 am

I'm new to sudoku and until yesterday I was under the impression that Nishio techniques in sudoku are just picking a candidate at random, then trying to solve the puzzle. Then yesterday I saw at sudokuwiki.org that Nishio is actually a chaining technique and realized it similarity to weak linked discontinuous NICE loops. In my opinion, finding NICE loops and all other similar alternating inference chains (x cycles, xy chains, forcing chains etc.) with exception to the Nishio chain are valid sudoku solving techniques because they use logic to find , and that these techniques do not assume a candidate to be true.

My question is this. In your opinion, do you consider Alternating Inference Techniques to be valid sudoku solving techniques? If not, what techniques do you consider valid, considering that many of the other patterned based techniques are chains themselves?
Lengen0538

Re: Nishio vs AICs. When is it considered cheating?

Postby JasonLion » Wed Dec 20, 2017 3:04 pm

Yes, I consider AIC to be a valid (though advanced) technique. Nishio is invalid because it is based on guessing and thus is equivalent to brute force, rather than proceeding logically through proofs. It has nothing to do with chains, though it is possible to look at it as a chaining technique, that isn't where the problem lies.
JasonLion
2017 Supporter

Postby David P Bird » Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:15 pm

Welcome Lengen0538

To elaborate a bit on Jason's response.

Nishio techniques use forcing chains to check alternative cells that may hold a digit assuming each one to be true in turn looking for conflicts so that one of them can be eliminated.