New to Sudoku and need advice

Advanced methods and approaches for solving Sudoku puzzles

New to Sudoku and need advice

Postby Marie26 » Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:26 pm

I am new to Sudoku and am enjoying doing these puzzles. I am able to do the easy ones and sometimes the medium ones. However, I am unable to complete a hard one.

What are the main differences between easy, medium and hard? Are there special techniques that are needed to complete a puzzle that is at a different level?

Thank you for any advice you can give me.
Marie26

Re: New to Sudoku and need advice

Postby lunababy_moonchild » Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:50 pm

Marie26 wrote:I am new to Sudoku and am enjoying doing these puzzles. I am able to do the easy ones and sometimes the medium ones. However, I am unable to complete a hard one.

What are the main differences between easy, medium and hard? Are there special techniques that are needed to complete a puzzle that is at a different level?

Thank you for any advice you can give me.

Hello Marie and welcome to the Forum.

It depends on whose puzzles you are doing. Generally speaking there are differences between the grades and it just takes practice to work your way up the grades. If you are referring to Pappacom's puzzles then yes, there are distinct differences between the grades (ie they get progressively harder) but you only need the x-wings technique to complete the Very Hards (these are only available via the Pappacom software, on this site) and the rest are completed using logic alone. As for other puzzles, it's much like driving a car, the basic principles are the same but sometimes they 'handle' differently.

However, if you are interested in the more advanced techniques please peruse the Solving Techniques section (too many of them to quote directly here) and you'll find an eye-watering array of techniques avaliable. Whether or not you choose to use them is entirely up to you - it depends on how far you want to take the solving experience, really.