New player with dumb question…

Advanced methods and approaches for solving Sudoku puzzles

New player with dumb question…

Postby Janice » Mon Sep 19, 2005 12:41 am

Hi, I’m new to Su Doku. I understand how to find the logical solutions (such as are on this sites “Tips” section) and have not problem with the easer puzzles. But, I’m a little confused about the concept of have to guess once getting to a point in the harder puzzles in which there are no more logical steps (or I am just overlooking steps). Guessing, or assuming, a number almost seems like cheating. Is this just the way the game is? Or is it possible to solve the more difficult puzzles without guessing or assuming any numbers, and I just don’t know those steps yet???? Any clarification, or information on tricks to solving the more complex puzzles would be appreciated.

Thanks, Janice
Janice

Postby PaulIQ164 » Mon Sep 19, 2005 1:01 am

If you're doing Pappocom puzzles (from the computer program on this website or one of the newspapers that carries them such as The Times), then you shouldn't have to guess, and there must be some logical techniques you're yet to discover. In fact, this is very likely the case wherever you're getting puzzles from. There are puzzles, however, where you would need to guess eventually, but you should try to avoid these if you don't like the idea of solving by trial and error (as most people don't).
PaulIQ164

Re: New player with dumb question…

Postby zebedeezbd » Mon Sep 19, 2005 1:38 am

Janice wrote:Or is it possible to solve the more difficult puzzles without guessing or assuming any numbers, and I just don’t know those steps yet???? Any clarification, or information on tricks to solving the more complex puzzles would be appreciated.

Hi Janice,