Looking for the next step in this Killer Sudoku

Post the puzzle or solving technique that's causing you trouble and someone will help

Looking for the next step in this Killer Sudoku

Postby ave » Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:03 pm

puzzle (2).jpg
puzzle (2).jpg (97.76 KiB) Viewed 1085 times
I am stumped by this Killer Sudoku. I know a lot of places where two numbers go in two spaces, or what several squares add up to, etc., but I still can't get any further. I would be grateful to hear what someone would fill in next and why. Thank you!
ave

Re: Looking for the next step in this Killer Sudoku

Postby SpAce » Fri Jan 04, 2019 10:17 am

I'm not a killer expert and won't even attempt to solve this further, but there seems to be at least one pretty easy cell. What is the only place for 6 in box 1? It can't be in the 2-cage(6) or in the 8-cage(39) so it must be in r1c3, right?

I don't know how you even dream of solving this puzzle without candidates, though. For me they're a must with all but the easiest killers, but like I said, I'm not very good with killers anyway. (In fact, your question should probably be posted in the Sudoku Variants section and not here.)
SpAce

Postby ave » Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:20 pm

Thanks so much for the quick reply! I'm afraid I still don't see why the 39 cage can't hold a 6.

If you have time to explain I'd appreciate it but if you think I should just repost this in Sudoku Variants I can do that--I appreciate the guidance.

I'm sure my solving method isn't the best, but all of the other puzzles at the same level in this book have not been any trouble. I seem to have a block on this one.
ave

Postby tarek » Fri Jan 04, 2019 8:50 pm

Hi ave,

No time to look at your post. Hatman usually loves these

There is still a pocket of active Killer sudoku solvers on this forum

http://www.rcbroughton.co.uk/sudoku/forum/index.php

tarek
tarek

Postby ave » Sat Jan 05, 2019 8:22 pm

Thank you!
ave

Postby SpAce » Sun Jan 06, 2019 1:42 pm