Is this a new technique?

Advanced methods and approaches for solving Sudoku puzzles

Is this a new technique?

Postby Brendan » Tue Oct 18, 2005 4:00 am

As a newbie, I have read the usual online techniques. But I came up with one that I wonder whether it is new. It is a row comparison technique, that it a bit similar to forced chains in outcome. It is a technique that I use before Nishio but after most other simpler techniques. I don't know what tabling is, (the online sources didn't mention them) so it could be a form of tabling with very specific goals. I call it Convergence, and will explain by means of an example

Purpose: To reduce the number of possible options in cells across a row.

Example:

ROW 1 => | 2 18 3 | 16 9 68 | 4 7 5 |
ROW 2 => | 7 189 19 | 1689 5 4 | 3 129 12689 |

These rows are separated, not in the same square, although there is no reason that the technique cant be used for rows in the same square.

I begin by writing all the options for the unknowns in the first line on a blank page and assigning a monica to it

1 6 8 - A
8 1 6 - B

I then write out all the options for the second line

Now the first two unknown digits of the top row align with the first and third digits of the bottom row. I put arrows above to remind myself of where they are. Then I check through the options, making sure that if I use a particular number in the first line, I don’t also use that number at that same location in the second line. If the top line option doesn’t conflict with the bottom line option, I write the letter next to it as below. Then I check to see if any of the options converged, by crossing out the incompatible lines (that have no letters next to them) and checking the remaining options in each column.

Code: Select all
 ↓ ↓
 19628  B
 19826  B
 81629  (Crossed out)
 81692  (Crossed out)
 81926 A
 89126 A
 89612  (Crossed out)
 89621  (Crossed out)
 91628  B
 91826 AB