I need help

Everything about Sudoku that doesn't fit in one of the other sections

I need help

Postby spfmember » Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:23 am

I'm new to this game and really enjoy it, except for one thing. I've noticed that lately even some of the simple puzzles command a 'guess' in the beginning. I don't like guessing numbers because to me that makes it no longer a game of logic. Is it indeed possible with every puzzle to have no guesses if we pencil in all the possibilities and go from there?
spfmember

Postby Pat » Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:52 am

spfmember wrote:
I've noticed that lately even some of the simple puzzles command a 'guess'

please post one of those "simple" puzzles -- then we can see if it really "needs guessing"---
Pat

Postby spfmember » Thu Aug 07, 2008 2:18 pm

I can't post anything because it's on my Blackberry. Trust me, there was no way short of starting to pencil-in to solve anything. The first 10 or so puzzles I did had no guesswork but after that they started and I was disappointed. I just wondered why all the puzzles couldn't be like the first few I did. Is the difference between simple/normal and the more complicated puzzles the necessity to pencil-in numbers? I thought it strange that a simpler puzzle would require it.
spfmember

Postby Glyn » Thu Aug 07, 2008 2:45 pm

spfmember I assume that your Blackberry game has the capability of displaying 'Pencil Marks' (the remaining choices for the unsolved cells). Are you scanning that for the last available choice in a cell (naked singles) or the last available cell for a number in a row, column or box (hidden singles).

I would be worried if a program only offered 10 easy puzzles, even if it was upping the difficulty level a little each time.

As Pat has said we can't assess how much of a leap in difficulty has occurred unless you can give us a starting grid.
Glyn

Postby spfmember » Thu Aug 07, 2008 3:36 pm