I'm stuck at very early stage

Post the puzzle or solving technique that's causing you trouble and someone will help

Postby alkon » Wed Feb 01, 2006 9:17 pm

Hi,
I am a relative novice here, as I've only done about 10 puzzles so far from our local newspaper. I was told that this is a hard puzzle.

I have solved all but one puzzle so far (this one).
Anyway, the attached puzzle has me stumped. I was under the impression that these puzzles were all logical, and maybe I'm missing something obvious here, but I've only been able to fill in 2 squares (3 and 5 in 4th row right) in the example below.
Everything else was given to me initially.

There are multiple choices everywhere. I tried some guesses, but there is always one bad choice that I made someplace. I'm sure that there are logical steps that I could use, but I don't know them.:?:
With so many choices here, I can be working on this for a month!
I've read the basic instructions at this web site and have used them, but they are no help here.
Is there some other tricks that I can use to eliminate any other squares?
I don't need the puzzle solved, but I need to somehow get started again.
Thanks for your help.
Al

. 2 . | . . . | . . 3
. . 7 | 8 . . | . . .
6 3 . | 5 . . | . 8 .
------+-----+-------
. . 2 | . 4 . | 3 5 8
. . 5 | . 2 . | 9 . .
4 . . | . 5 . | 7 . .
------+-----+-------
. 9 . | . . 6 | . 3 1
. . . | . . 5 | 6 . .
1 . . | . . . | . 9 .
alkon

Postby simes » Wed Feb 01, 2006 9:47 pm

Hi Alkon,

You need some locked candidates, followed by a hidden pair, then a couple more locked candidates. After that, it's plain sailing.

Simon
simes

Postby QBasicMac » Wed Feb 01, 2006 11:13 pm

Below is more detail, if you want it.

Mac

Locked candidate 2 in box 2
Translation: Look in box 2 and see all the two's there are in one column, hence there can be no other 2's in that column in the other boxes. Erase candidates.

Locked candidate 6 in box 5
Locked candidate 8 in box 5
Locked candidate 1 in box 6