How Do I Import An Image Into a Post?

Everything about Sudoku that doesn't fit in one of the other sections

How Do I Import An Image Into a Post?

Postby Yogi » Tue May 10, 2016 10:13 pm

It's easy enough to bring in an 81-character one-line code like these:
000000029000730000000400060208000300000100500600000000070050100000002000010000000
1...5.......1...3...7...6...5...8...9...3...1...6...4...2...8...3...7.......9...5
They will come straight in from a Word document in my computer, but my last attempt with an ASCII - type grid produced something unworkable.
I've read the FAQ on importing images but my searches of Free Web Hosting did not tell me how to do it.
I can now copy images of partially-completed puzzles from other members' postings when I reply, but I still can't put a new image of my own into a new post.
Can someone walk me through this please?

Yogi
Yogi
2017 Supporter
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 05 December 2015
Location: New Zealand

Re: How Do I Import An Image Into a Post?

Postby JasonLion » Wed May 11, 2016 12:59 pm

Look for the "Upload attachment" tab below the post composition area. Once you have uploaded an image it will offer you the option of including it inline in the message.
User avatar
JasonLion
2017 Supporter
 
Posts: 600
Joined: 25 October 2007
Location: Silver Spring, MD, USA

Re: How Do I Import An Image Into a Post?

Postby Leren » Thu May 12, 2016 9:26 am

One possible reason that your previous posts of puzzle images were unreadable is that you may have had non-printing characters, like tab stops, in the number fields.

Your box separation lines appeared to print OK with 81 characters but the cell lines did not, probably due to this reason. The only non-printing character that is safe to use is a space (press the space bar).

I think Pat managed to decipher your diagram better than me because he used the quote button whereas I had used the code button, and the software routines in these two different buttons handles non-printing characters like tab stops differently.

The 81 character . based line format 1...5.......1...3...7...6...5...8...9...3...1...6...4...2...8...3...7.......9...5 is definitely the safest way to go.

If you want it to look a bit more like a puzzle status you can break it into nine lines if you want, like so :

1...5....
...1...3.
..7...6..
.5...8...
9...3...1
...6...4.
..2...8..
.3...7...
....9...5

That way you don't have to use a Code box.

Leren
Leren
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: 03 June 2012

Postby Pat » Fri May 13, 2016 9:33 am

Yogi wrote:It's easy enough to bring in an 81-character one-line code like these:
    1...5.......1...3...7...6...5...8...9...3...1...6...4...2...8...3...7.......9...5
but my last attempt with an ASCII - type grid produced something unworkable.

I can now copy---partially-completed puzzles from other members' postings when I reply, but I still can't put a new---of my own into a new post.
Can someone walk me through this please?

User avatar
Pat
 
Posts: 3250
Joined: 18 July 2005


Return to General