How do I easily verify a solved sudoku puzzle

Everything about Sudoku that doesn't fit in one of the other sections

How do I easily verify a solved sudoku puzzle

Postby totup » Fri Mar 31, 2006 5:43 pm

I would like to know if there is a faster way of verifying my finsihed solution for any 9x9 sudoku puzzle (not by looking at the solution in the back of a book of puzzles ... I may not have the solution if I copied a puzzle from the internet or a magazine). Right now I check it in 3 steps: (1) check that each square has 1-9 (2) check that each row has 1-9 and (3) check that each column has 1-9. I'm wondering if there is a quicker method than this (such as only checking some of the squares, rows, and columns to prove my solution is correct). I've done many puzzles but I'm basically self taught (have not read any books or anything on methods).
totup

Postby ab » Fri Mar 31, 2006 6:58 pm

there is no quicker way!

why did you post this in the solver programs forum??
ab

Postby MCC » Sat Apr 01, 2006 4:46 pm

ab wrote:why did you post this in the solver programs forum??

I thought this was the 'General puzzle' forum.

MCC
MCC

oops

Postby totup » Sat Apr 01, 2006 5:15 pm

sorry ... thought i did put this in the general puzzle forum. Not sure how I got it into this forum. This was my first post and I must have made some kind of mistake when posting it.
totup

Postby MCC » Sun Apr 02, 2006 10:59 am

totup, this is the General puzzle forum, either your post was moved from the solver programs forum or ab has made a mistake.

MCC
MCC

Postby Pappocom » Sun Apr 02, 2006 11:45 am

No need to get so hung up about which forum is used. If it's in a wrong forum, I'll move it to the correct one. That's what I did here. This topic was originally in the Solver Programs forum and I moved here to the General/Puzzle forum.

- Wayne
Pappocom

Postby HATMAN » Sun Apr 02, 2006 11:53 am

If you want to do this regularly there is a quicker way: