Hidden Single vs Naked Triple

Post the puzzle or solving technique that's causing you trouble and someone will help

Hidden Single vs Naked Triple

Postby Steerpike58 » Sat Sep 24, 2022 3:15 am

This may seem like a really dumb or strange question, but I found myself using this technique several times today with one particular puzzle. Bottom line is, it was easier for me to spot a 'naked triple' than it was to spot a hidden single. I eliminated all the items due to the naked triple and that left the 'hidden single' in plain sight. I'm still learning techniques, and today I was really focusing on hidden and naked pairs and triples, so my brain was primed to see the triple more than the single. I just wanted to verify - is this a legitimate, though perhaps odd, approach?

The sample below represents 3 boxes out of 9.
Code: Select all
      1   2   3
  ---------------
A  !  5   2  38  !
B  !  38  6  7   !
C  !  89  4  1   !
  ---------------
D  !  6   9  5   !
E  !  28  1  48  !
F  !  238 7  38  !
  ---------------
G  !  4   5  2   !
H  !  7   38 389 !
J  !  1   3  6   !
   ---------------

In column 1, we have the naked triple B1/E1/F1 (38, 28, 238). This naked triple therefore eliminates the '8' in C1, leaving '9' as the only candidate in C1.

The entire puzzle is:

....9..2.4.25...6..53.7..4..78..1...9...5.....4.6..........7..25...4.7........1.6

I found several examples where I was able to eliminate candidates using naked pairs, naked triples, and possibly more, and yet the online 'solver' showed me that it was entirely solvable using only naked and hidden singles!
Steerpike58

Re: Hidden Single vs Naked Triple

Postby Leren » Sat Sep 24, 2022 3:50 am

Hi Steerpike58,

As a card carrying member of the LMS (that's Lousy Manual Solver) club, I've always thought that Hidden things are harder to spot than Naked things, whilst other's seem to think the opposite is true.