Hidden Candidates for Dummies

Everything about Sudoku that doesn't fit in one of the other sections

Hidden Candidates for Dummies

Postby Trocksmore » Sun Jun 04, 2023 4:14 pm

Hi all,

Absolute novice here who is, unsurprisingly to my wife, having a difficult time wrapping my head around something so seemingly simple. Specifically the concept of “hidden candidates”. Take “hidden pairs” for example: as I understand it they are defined as: A unit (house, row or column) containing 2 cells with 2 true candidate-pairs whom are “hidden” by false candidates within these cells.

So looking at the image below, it seems to me that the 2 & 3 would be a hidden pair. But they aren’t. And I don’t know why?

Thanks for any help!

Trocksmore

Postby Pat » Tue Jun 06, 2023 8:37 am

row 1 has additional cells where 2 or 3 can be.
Pat

Re: Hidden Candidates for Dummies

Postby denis_berthier » Tue Jun 06, 2023 3:47 pm

Hi Trocksmore
Welcome on this forum.
You don't have the good definitions.

Trocksmore wrote:having a difficult time wrapping my head around something so seemingly simple. Specifically the concept of “hidden candidates”.

There's no concept of a hidden candidate. There are only hidden pairs, hidden triplets...

Trocksmore wrote:Take “hidden pairs” for example: as I understand it they are defined as: A unit (house, row or column) containing 2 cells with 2 true candidate-pairs whom are “hidden” by false candidates within these cells.

No. It's a unit with two numbers that can appear in only the same two cells. It allows those two cells to have other candidates - which are in no way "false".
denis_berthier
2010 Supporter

Postby DonM » Fri Jun 16, 2023 7:46 pm