Help

Everything about Sudoku that doesn't fit in one of the other sections

Help

Postby Sodu » Sun Nov 10, 2019 8:19 pm

I'm new to Sudoku Forum I started playing sodoku on Android I downloaded the app from Google play store I searched and googled the internet on how to play Sodoku I found some very great youtube videos on how play I mastered beginning yet to learn and master playing medium this level is extremely difficult I tried reading sodoku books on e-reader well watching videos I'm need of tips and pointers on medium kindly explain this to me reach me on forum or email.
Sodu

Re: Help

Postby dxSudoku » Mon Apr 13, 2020 2:52 pm

I've done a number of tutorial videos on the more advanced techniques. Here is a playlist which may help you:

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLDT9hh28q4mybizFccwMQPsKmV0jjZwf-

Sorry for the shameless plug but I worked really hard on these videos and my hope is they are what you looking for.

In terms of puzzle solving strategy here is what I do. I've done a number of videos on solving puzzles from beginning to end. After years of doing so many puzzles I follow a certain algorithm. I'm sure other people do the same. Maybe slightly different near the bottom of the sequence when more advance techniques are required because I usually only do the ones I know. Right now I don't know all the advance techniques so maybe people have other strategies. But for most easy and medium puzzles I think people pretty much follow the same sequence. There is a group of techniques I call the 7 base techniques (steps 1 through 7).

Step 1: Look for any Naked Singles. If found repeat Step 1.
Step 2: Look for any Hidden Singles. If found go back to Step 1.
Step 3-7: Look for Naked Pair, Locked Candidates, Hidden Pairs or Naked Double, Naked Triples, X-Wing. If found go back to Step 1.
Step 8: Look for Hidden Triples. If found go back to Step 1.
Step 9: If there are cells with lots of pairs then look for W-Wings. If found go back to Step 1.