general sudoku logic question

Everything about Sudoku that doesn't fit in one of the other sections

general sudoku logic question

Postby swordfish7 » Tue Mar 07, 2006 1:48 am

Hi, I am new to these message boards and fairly new to sudoku. I was doing one of these out of a newspaper the other day and after 2 or 3 hours i had it all filled out and then i realized that i had one number wrong, so the whole entire page was wrong. Being a computer science student, i realized that i had just spent 2 hours doing what my computer could do in a fraction of a second, and i havd screwed it up. so i decided to write a sudoku solving program (in JAVA).

My question is as follows:

-is every legitimate sudoku game, say from a newspaper or a puzzel book, entirely logically solvable? or do you reach a point on some games where you have to make a guess?

I haven't played enough games to know this for sure but i'm guessing that they can be completely solved by logic. However, any input on this would be very appreciated. If i have to write my program to guess numbers when it gets stuck it will be much more difficult to program and solving time will be much greater!

Cheers!

Swordfish
swordfish7

Postby Hud » Tue Mar 07, 2006 2:49 am

No guessing allowed. Some advanced techniques seem a bit like guesswork, but they are logical also.
Hud

Postby ab » Tue Mar 07, 2006 3:51 am

It's possible to create sudoku puzzles with one solution that require you to guess at some point. Look for instance at this thread:
http://forum.enjoysudoku.com/viewtopic.php?t=1914
However puzzles published in newspapers usually can be solved using logical deduction.