Formatting puzzles to print and share

Sudoku puzzles, off-site games and other resources on the Internet

Formatting puzzles to print and share

Postby keith » Wed Oct 21, 2015 4:12 am

(If you don't want the background, please skip to the next post.)

As many of you know, I have been a member and an administrator of the Daily Sudoku (DS) site for about ten years now. I have recently become very disenchanted by the indifference of the site owner to that site's Discussion Board. I fear the discussion board or the entire may simply disappear, as has happened with a number of Sudoku sites. In fact, Dan (ArkieTech) started posting his puzzles here because DS went down without explanation for a number of weeks.

But, DS has proved to be durable, and the site has a loyal following. I do fear that it may just disappear, and have been trying to figure out the use cases that people find most beneficial. To that end, I have enlisted Helmut (Nataraj), Marty, and Jason.

One feature of DS that people value is Draw/Play (DP). It does three important things that I can see:

1. It is an online solver that provides hints to do the basics plus X, XY, and XYZ wings.
2. It prints puzzles on a half page in a pleasing format.
3. It generates bbcode text that can be pasted into a discussion board message that makes it very simple for others to open and solve or print puzzles in Draw/Play. Dan uses this feature with every puzzle he posts.

What would we do if DS disappears?

Well, Nataraj (now known to be Helmut) created a formatter to post puzzles to DP. He has also created his own site, that has a "Sudoku Helper" that offers tips but is not really a solver. It follows the philosophy of "teach a man to fish". Helmut has now enabled my imagined use cases in his formatter

http://sudoku.saueregger.at/HSF.htm

EDIT: The correct (new) link is http://sudoku.saueregger.at/HSH/HSF.htm

and in his Sudoku Helper