Floundering in the shallows!

Advanced methods and approaches for solving Sudoku puzzles

Floundering in the shallows!

Postby dah069 » Tue Aug 09, 2005 8:04 am

I'm a beginner and I've got stuck straight away on this easy puzzle. I'm kind of embarassed to even post this, having read your highly technical and culinary sounding discussions about Swordfish, Turbot Fish, and Sardine Sandwiches etc, but I'm keen to get unstuck.

Here is as far as I got:

... .93 ..7
... 861 .2.
.3. .47 81.

..3 ... 7..
.89 735 16.
... ... 5..

.92 .18 .7.
.4. 379 2.1
1.. .52 ...

I found lots of squares in rows 4, 5, and 6, and in column 4, that contained only two possibilities, but couldn't do anything with them. Maybe I should just let them saute for a while?

Thanks for your help.
David
dah069

Postby hana somekh » Tue Aug 09, 2005 8:36 am

David,

My suggestion for you, as a beginner is to first concentrate on a digit which has the most numbers on the puzzle. For example, in the puzzle you sent, there are many digit 3's.
Start there.
Notice that in box 1 and 4 there are already 3's, but in box 7 there are no 3's.

The 3 in box 7 can only be put in one place. It can only be in column 1. It cannot be in row 8 as there is already a three in box 8 in that column, therefore, it can only be in row 7.

Hope this helps,
Hana.
hana somekh

Postby dah069 » Tue Aug 09, 2005 10:02 pm

Thanks Hana - now you've pointed it out, I can't believe I missed it!
Cheers,
David
dah069

Postby saulysw » Wed Aug 10, 2005 7:43 am

David,

Haha! Yes, I a agree. It's all a bit of a weird cross between star wars and a fish shop.