Does this technique have a name?

Post the puzzle or solving technique that's causing you trouble and someone will help

Does this technique have a name?

Postby RSW » Sat Dec 01, 2018 7:51 am

Hi everyone. This is my first post here.

This is a strategy that I used by hand very early on when I was a beginner at solving Sudokus. Please refer to the attached diagram, and Row C in particular.
PuzzleA.png
PuzzleA.png (30.86 KiB) Viewed 1028 times

Candidates for empty cells in Row C:
C1 - 1 3
C2 - 1 2
C4 - 1 6
C5 - 1 3 4 6
C7 - 1 2 6

Here is the output from my solver program explaining the solution of C1 and C5.

---
There are 3 valid ways of arranging the 5 unassigned digits in row C:
31-64-2--
32-14-6--
32-64-1--
In every case: C1=3, C5=4. Therefore, these are the actual cell values.
* Solved Cell C1=3
* Solved Cell C5=4
---

Although it's programmed into my solver, It's easy to do by hand, because once a puzzle reaches a stage where many of the candidates have been eliminated, then there are usually only a few ways of arranging the digits in the unfilled cells of a row, column or box. So, it's just a matter of writing them out and checking for a persistent digit in one or more cells.

I've looked through quite a few webpages explaining the various strategies, but I haven't seen this one mentioned. It may be a special case of a more general strategy though. If it has a name, then please let me know. If it doesn't have a name, then I would suggest that it be called "Musical Chairs" for reasons which hopefully are apparent. Thanks.
Last edited by RSW on Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
RSW

Re: Does this strategy have a name?

Postby RSW » Sun Dec 02, 2018 10:09 am