Creating a BH-Sudoku

Everything about Sudoku that doesn't fit in one of the other sections

Creating a BH-Sudoku

Postby Big Blue » Tue Aug 02, 2005 7:53 am

I am relatively new to Sudoku and I tried recently to construct my first one. I intend to send it to a friend whose initials are "BH", which is why I confined myself to the following form (0: no clue, x: clue):

000 000 000
xxx 00x 00x
x00 x0x 00x
x00 x0x 00x
xxx 00x xxx
x00 x0x 00x
x00 x0x 00x
xxx 00x 00x
000 000 000

I don't know if it is visible, but this pattern yields the letters "BH".

After several failed attempts I ended up with the following:

000 000 000
842 003 005
900 104 007
100 209 008
298 006 753
300 708 001
400 805 009
529 001 004
000 000 000

It has two solutions and I intend to fix this ambiguity by requiring verbally that somewhere in the solution the "lucky number" 13 has to appear (that is, a 1 followed in the same row by a 3 in the column to the right).

It is not very difficult to solve, but, I believe, also not especially easy. X-wing can give you a head start, but it is not needed.

Although for the purpose of sending this to my friend I am quite happy with the result, I became curious, so here are my questions:

1.) Is it possible to construct Sudokus with unique solutions with the pattern above? I strongly expect the answer to be yes, but since I did everything by hand eventually I gave up because construction by hand is a bit tedious after some time.

2.) Is it possible to construct the Sudoku in such a way that X-wing is needed for the 4 corners and the 6th column? I conjecture a "yes" but I am less sure here.

3.) Is it possible to make an irreducible Sudoku with the pattern above? (by "irreducible" I mean that you cannot remove any of the clues and still get a unique result).