Complete Sudoku Solving Techniques

Advanced methods and approaches for solving Sudoku puzzles

Complete Sudoku Solving Techniques

Postby dipen01 » Sun Oct 16, 2005 8:43 am

Hi..
In one of the post i just came across names of these techniques and the proper follow through of this techs while solving Sudoku.
90% of these techs are unknown to me and i guess may be unknown to any newbie here. So may be any techie or anybody having clear concepts of these may post the method and use of these techniques while solving sudoku.

This would be helpful to Newbies and moderator can keep it sticky so that any newbie on this forum may refer to it.

There are many other websites having tips and methods for solving Sudoku but none of these have complete list so its getting tough to search for every website. And even some websites have wrongly defined some methods so to avoid confusion our forum member can contribute.

This will act as Tutorial and Methods for Solving Sudoku..Anybody willing to put in any efforts is highly appreciated

Pinned Squares 0
Simple Locked Sets 1
Simple Hidden Sets
Intersection Removal
Remote Locked Pairs
Comprehensive Locked Sets
Comprehensive Hidden Sets
Simple X-Wing
Swordfish
Jellyfish
Squirmbag
XY-Wing
XYZ-Wing
Uniqueness
Forcing Chains
Fishy Cycles
Nishio
Trebor's Tables
Bowman Bingo

Hope someone takes initiative.. Thanx..

Dipen
dipen01

Postby Nick67 » Sun Oct 16, 2005 10:15 am

The post you refer to was written by Sudoku expert MadOverlord.
He has created an excellent Sudoku program called Sudoku Susser
(which is all the more impressive considering the time-consuming nature of
his main activity: world domination!). A nice feature is the accompanying manual,
which describes all of the techniques in this list.

As additional references, the SadMan Software guide and Angus Johnson's guide should be helpful, too.
Nick67

Postby dipen01 » Mon Oct 17, 2005 12:25 pm

Well..

Nick ..thanx for ur help regarding Sudoku Susser...