C# Program for Solving / Generating Sudokus, Sudoku Blog

Programs which generate, solve, and analyze Sudoku puzzles

C# Program for Solving / Generating Sudokus, Sudoku Blog

Postby bloggeroliver » Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:44 pm

Hi!

I am a C# programmer and wanted to use this forum, to present two of my projects, I hope this is the right place to put it, and I hope it is interesting for you. As well I am curious about your opinions regarding the Sudokus.
So I personally am new to Sudokus, but started from an algorithmic perspective when I wanted to write a program to solve and generate Sudokus in C#. Of course the solving is not so hard, the computer can simply try out all solutions, but the generating is difficult - and contrary to my opinion, I did not find a "standard" method to do so (as for the rest of the post, as I am in any part wrong, please correct me). Therefor, I implemented a method which resembles how humans would solve a Sudoku, by applying certain rules (like Naked Pair etc.) I found online. (Prior I thought all Sudokus can be solved by using only a very few simple rules, but that is not the case, each of the very many turns out to be different from the others and thus might be required right?).
The rules I orderd according to how difficult I thought them to be, then the program simply creates a random Sudoku and checks, which rules it has to apply to be able to solve the Sudoku, the last one of course always being brute-force.
More details about the program you can found on my programming blog, starting with the article http://csharp-tricks-en.blogspot.de/201 ... dokus.html. There is another article posted which describes the implemented solving rules (http://csharp-tricks-en.blogspot.de/201 ... dokus.html), and I will publish two more posts in the next 2 weeks containing the source code etc.