Are there puzzles that require advanced techniques?

Everything about Sudoku that doesn't fit in one of the other sections

Are there puzzles that require advanced techniques?

Postby jraggio » Thu Jun 22, 2006 2:42 am

I am new to Sodoku and have a few questions. I appologize as I'm sure much of this has probably been discussed before, but I was unable to find a sticky or FAQ here.

1) Is this one of the better discussions boards or forums for Sodoku? It's one of the first that showed up in Google and seems to have some good conversations and recent posts. Are there any others I should check out?

2) Are there puzzles that can only be solved with some of the more advanced techniques like X-Wing and Jellyfish (or whatever they are called)? Or are these techniques simply names for things that can be done without learning the techniques using common sense and logic? Is it he case that these techniques make the puzzle easier to solve or is it the case that they are necessary? I hope it is not the case. I don't like the idea of needing to learn them all to be able to complete the harder puzzles. At what level woudl the techniques become mandatory, if ever?

3) Are there any puzzles that require trial and error? In other words are there some that no techniques could help.

4) Is it true that every legitmate puzzle should have only one solution?

Thanks,
John
jraggio

Re: Are there puzzles that require advanced techniques?

Postby fermat » Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:44 am

jraggio wrote:I am new to Sodoku and have a few questions. I appologize as I'm sure much of this has probably been discussed before, but I was unable to find a sticky or FAQ here.

1) Is this one of the better discussions boards or forums for Sodoku? It's one of the first that showed up in Google and seems to have some good conversations and recent posts. Are there any others I should check out?