Generating sudokus

Programs which generate, solve, and analyze Sudoku puzzles

Generating sudokus

Postby Davy » Sun Jul 05, 2020 6:23 am

Hi Guys,

Since i am new to this forum, maybe a small introduction: i've only started doing sudokus since a few months ago. My girlfriend was doing them for quite some time already, and i used to laugh with her "sudoku-addiction". At some point i wanted to do another hobby-project (i am a programmer), and since she used an app which requires a periodic payment for new puzzles, i decided to write my own sudoku app.

Generating some sudoku puzzles ... how hard can it be, right? :mrgreen:

Since then, i have picked up the sudoku addiction also. I am not as fast as my girlfriend yet, but i need to have my daily sudoku :)

And now the actual question i have: to be able to generate puzzles, i have up until now:
- a bruteforce way of generating complete solutions
- a bruteforce way to check if a puzzle has a single solution
- a solver that implements: naked/hidden singles, locked candidates and subsets. I have noticed that with only these techniques, i can already solve the majority of sudokus that most websites/apps generate. Next on the list to implement is x-wing and coloring.

I have also started on the generation of puzzles, and that works in the following way:
1: start from a full solution
2: randomly select a symmetric pair from the solution to remove (i read somewhere that puzzles are ideally symmetrical)
3: check if the puzzle can be solved, and if only one solution is possible
4: rate difficulty, and if difficulty was higher than any previously generated puzzle, store it as the most difficult puzzle
5: repeat from step 2

The actual code is more complex, because i actually start with 10 random pairs that i test in parallel, and at every step in the process i try 10 different combinations. So i am brute-force-searching many random combinations.